

All India Federation of Tax Practitioners

(Western Zone)

Regd. Office: 215, Rewa Chambers, 31, New Marine Lines, Mumbai 400 020. Tel.: 022-22006342 / 43 / 49706343 | E-mail: aiftpho@gmail.com | Website: www.aiftponline.org

Chairman (WZ)

Adv. Ashvin A. Acharya

M: +91 7208005055

Hon. Secretary (WZ)

CA. Kamlesh Saboo

M: +91 9819195333

Treasurer (WZ) **STP. Sachin Gandhi**M:+91 9821482020

<u>Invitation to attend the Late Shri Nani Palkhivala Moot Court-2023</u>

Late Shri Nani A. Palkhivala was one of the finest legal luminary India has ever witnessed. He is considered as the savior of our Indian Constitution. His eloquent arguments before the Supreme Court of India played a pivotal role in landmark cases defending the principles of fundamental rights, justice, liberty and equality enshrined in the Indian Constitution.

He made substantial contributions to the taxation laws and economic policies, advocating for a fair and just tax system. He was a prolific author and orator. This made him an iconic figure in the annals of Indian jurisprudence.

To pay tribute to such an iconic personality in the legal field and to inspire and motivate young law students to the tax laws practice, the AIFTP (WZ) holds every year National Tax Moot Court, and Research Paper on the subject of Tax Laws for the newly entered Tax Professionals in the Memory of Padma Vibhushan, Late Dr. Nani A. Palkhivala.

This year too the All India Federation of Tax Practitioners (Western Zone) [AIFTP (WZ)] in association with the Income Tax Appellate Tribunal Bar Association (ITATBA) and Goods and Service Tax Practitioners' Association of Maharashtra (GSTPAM) have decided once again to hold Virtual Moot Court in Association with the Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai (MNLU-Mumbai) on 26 to 29 October, 2023, a detailed programme is attached herewith with the WebEx hyperlinks. Members are requested to attend the Opening Ceremony on Thursday, 26th October, 2023 at 4.30 p.m. to 5.45 p.m., and Final Round and Valedictory Session on Sunday, 29th October, 2023 at 10.30 a.m. to 2.00 p.m. There are no charges for virtually attending the same.

The Chief guest for the inaugural function would be Hon'ble Shri Justice C. V. Bhadang, President ITAT. And Guest of Honours would be: Hon'ble Mr. G. S. Pannu, Vice president, ITAT and Hon'ble Mr. Pramod S. Tarare, President, the Maharashtra Sales Tax Tribunal.

Similarly, the Chief Guest for the Valedictory function would be Hon'ble Justice Shri Nitin M. Jamdar, Judge Bombay High Court and Guest of Honours would be Hon'ble (Dr.) Justice Neela Kedar Gokhale, Judge, Bombay High Court, Hon'ble Justice Shri Piyush Agrawal, Judge, Allahabad High Court and Hon'ble Justice Dr. Anita Sumanth, Judge, Madras High Court.

There are no charges for attending the above functions which are held virtually, however, if any members who are desirous of donating their voluntary contribution, they are welcome and may remit the amount through NEFT as per the following bank details:

A/c Name: All India Federation of Tax Practitioners (Western Zone)

AIFTP (WZ) Bank Details:

Canara Bank,

Mumbai New Marine Lines Branch, Branch Code: 001389,

Kshamalaya,

37, New Marine Lines,

Churchgate,

Mumbai-400 020.

S. B. A/c No. 1389101053451

A/c Type - Savings

IFSC Code: CNRB0001389

Members are requested to send in the details of their donation at the E-mail ID: aiftwz@gmail.com

We once again request all the members to attend both the above functions i.e. Inaugural Function and the Final Round of Moot Court and Valedictory Sessions as per details mentioned above and make the event a grand success.

We remain:

Sd/-Shri Pankaj Ghiya, National President.

Shri Ashvin Acharya Chairman

AIFTP AIFTP (WZ).

